Bookmark and Share

Press Release
Contact: Liz Young


Kristina Neihouse wins 2020 Key West Writers Guild award

The Florida Keys Council of the Arts, in conjunction with the Key West Writers Guild is pleased to announce that Kristina Neihouse has garnered this year's writing award for her manuscript, “For James”.

This year marks the seventeenth annual award for the cash prize which is supported by an endowment under the administration of the Arts Council. Past winners include: Dale Dapkins, Lisa Mahoney, Joanna Brady Schmida, Richard DeGrasse, Harry Schroeder, the late Elizabeth Warner, Eddie Goldstein and Rusty Hodgdon. The manuscript, identified only by number, was reviewed in a competitive field of submittals and selected by three distinguished judges: Lois Markham Wolfe of Marathon, Valerie Perrault of Islamorada, and Michael Marrero of Key West.

Local writers with works in progress are encouraged to apply for the 2021 award of $2000. To qualify, one must be a resident of Monroe County, a member of the Key West Writers Guild, and working on either a novel or a work of non-fiction. Applicants must read from their work at two meetings of the Key West Writers Guild. Membership is paid annually, and meetings are held at 9:00 a.m. on the second and fourth Saturdays of the month. For more information – please visit the Arts Council website