Bookmark and Share

Press Release
Contact: Liz Young


Cultural Umbrella Committee Openings

The Florida Keys Council of the Arts is accepting letters of interest for two openings on the Cultural Umbrella Committee of the Tourist Development Council. The TDC District 1 (I) appointee must live within the city limits of Key West, and for the TDC District 4 (IV) the appointee must live between the Long Key Bridge and mile marker 90.939.

The committee member serves a three-year term beginning on October 1st. The sitting committee member for that district may re-apply for the position. The District 1 seat is currently held by Bunnie Smith, and the District 4 seat is held by Michelle Nicole Lowe.

The Cultural Umbrella Committee is composed of five persons representing the 5 TDC districts of the Florida Keys and is administered by the Florida Keys Council of the Arts. The committee works with the TDC’s advertising and public relations agencies to promote the Keys as an arts and cultural destination, and makes recommendations for the funding of cultural events.

To be eligible to serve on the Committee of the Cultural Umbrella, a person must:

1. Currently reside in the Tourist Development Committee District to which appointed for a minimum of two years. (Boundaries described above).

2. Have demonstrated significant support and advocacy for art and culture or work as an artist (visual, performing, literary, historic).

3. Demonstrate an understanding of the prime importance of art and culture to the economy and to the quality of life of Monroe County citizens and guests.

4. Receive no income in an administrative capacity from an entity or individual that was awarded Cultural Umbrella event funding in the past fiscal year or that applies in the current year.

Persons wishing to be considered may send a letter of interest and brief resume by July 15, 2021 to Elizabeth Young, Executive Director, Florida Keys Council of the Arts, by email to: or by mail to: 1100 Simonton Street, Suite #2-263, Key West, Fl. 33040