South Florida Cultural Consortium Grant Program

Contact: Amanda Sanfilippo | (305) 375-5436 |
Deadline to Apply: Monday, December 13, 2021, 11:59 PM Maximum Awards: $7,500 / $15,000

The South Florida Cultural Consortium Fellowship Program offers the largest regional, government-sponsored artists’ grants in the United States, awarding $15,000 and $7,500 fellowships to resident visual and media artists from the counties of Broward, Martin, Miami-Dade, Monroe, and Palm Beach. Since it was established in 1988, the Consortium has awarded close to $2 million in fellowships to over 200 artists. In addition to receiving the grant, the artists take part in an exhibition hosted and organized by a visual arts institution in one of the five counties.

Applicants to the 2021/2022 award are estimated to be notified April - May of 2022.


The deadline for applications is:
Monday, December 13, 2021, 11:59pm
Applications are now available. Click here to access.


  1. On or before Monday, December 13, 2021, 11:59PM, visual and media artists must submit applications in digital format online through If applicants have an already existing Submittable account, it is not necessary to create a new one.
  2. Visit the direct submission link
  3. At this link, candidates will find step-by-step instructions on how to register, apply, and prepare images for upload. There is no application fee to apply or to use the Submittable online application system.


All emerging, mid-career and established South Florida professional artists (those residing in Broward, Martin, Miami-Dade, Monroe or Palm Beach Counties) are eligible to apply. Candidates must have resided and worked in one of the participating five counties from October 19, 2019, to October 19, 2020, and must apply from the county of residence.

The Consortium awards the Fellowships contingent on proof of residency, which may include one or more of the following: property tax record; lease agreement; voter’s registration; or an IRS income tax return for 2019.

The Consortium defines a professional artist as a person who has created a recognized body of original works of art within an artistic discipline over a sustained period of time, and who is striving to achieve the highest level of professional recognition.

Individuals are not eligible if they are engaging in artwork as a hobby, if they are an employee of the participating County governments or of the South Florida Cultural Consortium’s member local arts agencies, or if they are a student pursuing an undergraduate or graduate degree.

Artists who have won the SFCC grant in the past are eligible to apply after their moratirum. A moratirum of five years is imposed on recipients who received the $15,000 grant, and a moratorium of three years imposed on artists who received a $7,500 grant. A moratorium of seven full grant cycles is applied to artists who have won the award more than two times, regardless of the grant award amount.


Submissions will be judged by the following criteria:

  • Degree of artistic excellence
  • Evidence of an established and recognized body of work over a sustained period of time
  • Consistency in the submitted body of work
  • All samples of work submitted for review must have been completed within the last three years prior to the application date. Failure to comply with this condition will result in disqualification.

For information regarding eligibility criteria, artist selection process and the SFCC workshop schedule, please visit the SFCC information page at the Department's Art in Public Places website.

The South Florida Cultural Consortium

Michael Spring - Chair, South Florida Cultural Consortium
Director, Miami-Dade County Department of Cultural Affairs
Phillip Dunlap - Director, Broward Cultural Division
Elizabeth S. Young - Executive Director, Florida Keys Council of the Arts
Dave Lawrence - President and CEO, Palm Beach County Cultural Council
Nancy Turrell - Executive Director, The Arts Council, Martin County

2021 Winner
Sally Binard

Picture of Sally Binard SFCC 2021 Winner
Sally Binard
is a primarily self-taught artist, born to first generation Haitian and Belgian immigrants who exposed her to two vastly different styles of art. This had a remarkable influence on her work. Exposure to the Dutch Masters and the vibrant Haitian arts provided a confusing and eclectic idea of what art was and could be. Her work is a means of recordkeeping and resolving personal questions in addition to creating conversations around identity, history, and social issues. Sally lives and works in Key West, Florida. 

(photo credit: Mark Hedden)

Past Monroe County Artist Grant Recipients include:
Michael Delgado -2020
Mark Hedden -2020
Nellie Appleby - 2019
Vivien Segel -2019
Roberta Marks– 2017
Deborah Goldman – 2016
Aleister Eaves– 2015
Anja (Kucharski) Marais – 2014
Jon McIntosh – 2014
Carol Munder – 2013
Nellie Appleby – 2012
Deborah Goldman - 2011
Karley Klopfenstein – 2009
Richard Hayden – 2007
Leo Gullick – 2007
Rock Solomon – 2006
Darlene Pruess – 2005
Marlene Koenig- 2004
Michel Delgado – 2004
Shari Schemmel – 2003
Kimberly Narenkivicius – 2002
Jenny Zeller – 2001
Debra Yates – 2000
Carol Munder – 1994
Roberta Marks -1990
John Martini -1989